First round of qualifying

Qualifying for the May 20, 2014 primary in Georgia and Lowndes County has been like a game of fruit basket upset or musical chairs. With all state wide offices and all state senate and house seats available, along with local county commission and school board seats, there was room for everyone (and then some).


In Lowndes County, County Commission districts 2, 3 and 4 are up for election, along with GA House seats 174, 175, 176 and 177 and GA Senate seat 8. The shuffling began when Richard Raines (County Commission 2) announced that he would not seek reelection. Then Tim Golden (Senate Seat 8) also announced that he would not seek reelection.

On Monday, qualifying was as follows:

Office Name Incumbant Status Party
Senate 8 Richard Raines No R
House 174 Ellis Black Yes R
House 175 Amy Carter Yes R
House 176 Jason Shaw Yes R
House 177 Dexter Sharper Yes D
County Commission 2 Scott Orenstein No R
County Commission 3 Crawford Powell Yes R
County Commission 3 Mark Wisenbaker No R
County Commission 4 Demarcus Marshall Yes D

On Tuesday, one more candidate joined in

Office Name Incumbant Status Party
County Commission 2 Jody Hall No R


On Wednesday, there was talk of some changes and those came on Thursday.
Ellis Black declared his intent to run for Senate Seat 8, leaving a vacancy in House Seat 174. Crawford Powell declared for the House 174 seat, leaving his County Commission seat race. Also qualifying on Thursday for Senate Seat 8 was Bikram Mohanty.

Office Name Incumbant Status Party
Senate 8 Ellis Black No R
Senate 8 Bikram Mohanty No D
House 174 Crawford Powell No R

When an incumbent declares candidacy for a race and then withdraws from that race, additional qualifying days are added. So, two additional qualifying days were added for
House Seat 174 and Lowndes County Commission District 3 (Monday March 10 and Tuesday March 11).

And, on Friday, still more candidates qualified.

Office Name Incumbant Status Party
Senate 8 John Page No R
House 174 Jessie Smith No D
House 174 John L. Corbett No R
County Commission 2 Clay Griner No R
Because Senate Seat 8 overlaps with the current term that John Page held in County Commission District 5, when Mr. Page qualified for the Senate, he immediately vacated his county commission seat.

A special election will be held to fill the un-expired term of John Page in District 5 of the Lowndes County Commission. Tentative qualifying for this position will be next week Monday through Wednesday. Please watch for the official announcement.

One thought on “First round of qualifying

  1. Pingback: Musical chairs in local qualifying | On the LAKE front

Comments are closed.